Can the Garn handle a Canadian winter -40's

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Scott from Canada

Jul 26, 2009
Manitoba Canada
Hello all, I have been researching boilers for a couple of years now. I want to do this once and do it right. I am hoping to tap into
the great wealth of knowledge on this forum. I would like to heat a 1600 sq ft house with a combination of floor heat and HX in my electric forced air furnace, a 2000sq ft shop with a combination of floor heat and HX, and a 16x 26 pool. Temps here can be in the -40s. There are boiler manufacturers here but I seem to be drawn to WoodGun and now more so the Garn. I welcome any and all input to help me finalize my decision. If what I am hearing on the forum is true, I'm glad I didn't buy into the GreenWood gasifier.

I am a long way south of Canada, we hit -44F last winter. I think when you get down to these figures there is not much difference between C and F.

Both come in different sizes, it all depends on you heat load and which system best meets your individual circumstance.

In my case the Wood Gun has the advantage of dual feed and Stainless Steel. The Garn built in storage and horizontal chimney.