1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Castile Feed motor

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by comtimo, Nov 16, 2012.

  1. comtimo

    comtimo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    I purchased a Castile in 2008. I have had no problems with it until the end of the season last yea rand begin this year. I started to hear a weird noise when the auger was supposed to be feeding. I only heard it every once and a while at the end of last season.. however I've noticed it more and more...

    Today I started to inspect the stove... figuring I need to clean the auger and hopper feed area... I opened the side and started the stove to observe the auger in action... typical of all mechanical things it performed flawlessly because it was being watched... I walked away and heard the noise again... shortly after I was watching the auger motor and realized that the noise was from the auger motor going in reverse... I check the trouble shooting of the Sept 2008 Owners Manual. I advised to check the wire connections... From what I observed all the connections appeared normal... Any suggestions or is it time for a new motor...

    Thanks in advance... And I apoligize if I missed a previous thread with this issue. I search for away before posting.

    Tim

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. BradH70

    BradH70 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    431
    Loc:
    South West NH
    You have a known issue.... The dreaded revers auger disease. You can purchase a harness that has a capacitor in it and it plugs into your existing harness and auger motor. The capacitor keeps the auger motor from turning in revers. I believe the harness is around $12 or so.
  3. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,047
    Loc:
    North Georgia
  4. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,008
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    No no no....quads use a dc motor. They have a resistor in the wiring and if the auger is "bound" the resistor heats up and reverses the polarity...this causes the motor to spin in reverse to clear the jam and when the resistor cools.. it should resume normal operation....but it isnt. You need a new auger motor assembly.
  5. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,008
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    Sorry....yea yea yea...they are pointing in the right direction but you may need the newer assembly.
  6. comtimo

    comtimo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Ok that's easy enough... I have from the motor 2 white, 1 black, 1 red until I get to the connection with a capacitor connected to it, and then goes to the board, the wires going to the board are 1 black and 2 whites. From the links provided one has no picture and is currently out of stock and the other doesn't appear to match my wiring.... the jumper has red, black and white going out both side of the connector... am I supposed to add the second capacitor in between the first one and the motor. Or will that cause some type of issue?
  7. MountainSean

    MountainSean Credo Quia Absurdum

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    298
    Loc:
    NW Montana
    The part on our website has been discontinued by Quad, if you tried to order it you would get a pop up saying it is not available (or at least the part is no longer listed on our price sheet at all). We are trying to find an aftermarket source for it but aren't having much luck. If you already have an auger motor with a capacitor in line then you don't need the jumper wire you already have the capacitor in line that people are talking about and probably need to replace the auger motor itself. Unless someone else has an idea you can try.
  8. comtimo

    comtimo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Actually Sean I spoke with a colleague of your's on Wednesday about 11 am (my time)... he informed me of the same thing...What causes the motor to run backwards? is it the capacitor? if that's the case then why buy a new motor it the only thing bad is the capacitor... I believe I have a capacitor in line... that's the little Pinkish square coming out of the quick connection right... then yes I have one.
  9. MountainSean

    MountainSean Credo Quia Absurdum

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    298
    Loc:
    NW Montana
    I have an idea that you could try but I do not know for certain it would work. Quad does have a capacitor and jumper for the 1200 and contour models that is still available. I imagine the reason it doesn't fit the Castile is just due to the connectors it has since the Castile, Contour and 1200 all use the same auger motor. The part number for it is 230-1920. You could try taking the capacitor off of the new part and wiring it in place of the capacitor you currently have. The wires on it are really short so you won't have much to work with but if it works you just saved a fair amount of christmas present funding.
  10. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,371
    Loc:
    Kinsman, Oh 44428 Brookfield, Oh 44403

    Only the Mt Vernon AE is a DC auger motor. All others are AC.

    Eric
  11. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,371
    Loc:
    Kinsman, Oh 44428 Brookfield, Oh 44403

    Castile post 2008 and CB1200 part number is 812-4421.

    Eric
  12. MountainSean

    MountainSean Credo Quia Absurdum

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    298
    Loc:
    NW Montana
    For the auger motor yeah. I was saying for the capacitor with wires, to try and take the wire extension quad has for changing out old Castile and 1200's and using the capacitor on it since that may be all that is bad with OP's stove.
  13. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,371
    Loc:
    Kinsman, Oh 44428 Brookfield, Oh 44403
    That part number was discontinued last year if I remember correctly.

    Eric
  14. comtimo

    comtimo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    I finally broke down and had a tech come out... He replaced the auger motor... said it was weak, could be a defect in the motor causing it to go in reverse at the slightest bit of resistance from the pellets. all said and done new motor and new capacitor...hopefully we won't have anymore issues!! Thanks for all the advice...By the way he changed the motor in like five minutes... the guy was awesome and very willing to explain what was going on. EPL Enterprise Inc, here is New York, attached to Heat Revival of Pleasant Valley.
    kinsmanstoves likes this.

Share This Page