CFM suddenly quit burning...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

squngel

Dec 1, 2006
South Central IN
Okay, my new large CFM stove and new straight-up flue burned beautifully at first. I put a bad log (half-seasoned and maybe a little damp) on a few days ago. Frustrated that it wouldn't burn, wanting to go to sleep, and not wanting to run through the house with a smouldering log, I *very stupidly* (because I am a stupid noob) tried to put it out by smothering it with half the contents of my ash pail and closing the damper. I awoke the next morning surprised to see the darn thing still "burning" under all that ash as coal with no flame.

Yes I know this was incredibly dumb. I need to fix what it did, though. At first everything seemed okay, but yesterday I noticed the stove wasn't drawing well, and when I put several sticks of bone-dry super-cured dogwood on last night and couldn't even get *that* to burn well (in the past this wood goes up like a torch and burns down to fine, fine ash--and quickly, but last night it just kind of smoldered into coal) I decided I had plugged the cap (from reading this forum) & must go up on roof to unclog it.
\
I called the reputable local fireplace establishment who just installed my new flue and asked them what tools I would need to take with me onto the roof to get the cap off because I only wanted to have to go up there once, and their response was as follows: