Chimney cleaning questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MJFlores

Burning Hunk
Dec 22, 2013
NH
Hi all, hopefully this is the right place to put my question. To start off, I've been burning wood for 12 years now and every year I climb up and check the chimney with a flash light but it just doesn't ever seem to get dirty! I decided to pick up a brush and rods and run it up and down anyways just to be safe. Here's my real question, my chimney flu is 7X11 inches so I bought the appropriate sized brush and a package of 6 36" fliber glass rods made by Rutland. The rods seem to flex so much I got to 3 rods and couldn't go any further. With three pieces screwed together I couldn't keep the brush going straight down so had to stop there. I did get within 6 or 7 feet from where the stove pipe enters the chimney but I'd like to start running that brush down the chimney every summer just to keep things clean. I thought about tying a 10 pound weight on the bottom of the brush just to try to keep it going straight down but not sure. Is there a solid rod that doesn't bend I can use or do you think the weight is a good idea? Also, is it strange that my chimney just doesn't seem to get dirty? After today's efforts there wasn't even enough to bother scooping out of the clean out in the basement. Some stats: I use the stove as my primary heat source and only use an oil furnace for hot water. My stove is a Woodstock Fireview. The wood I burn is all hardwood I cut myself, never pine or hemlock. I dry my wood all summer in the sun and then out it in an open aired wood shed so it stays