Chimney Height

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

porkweez

Nov 9, 2014
NC
Hi folks. Newbie here. I've read the regs about installing chimney pipe 2 ft higher than nearest feature within 10 ft. Is that a 'hard and fast' rule or is there wiggle room? Would it be better to install some offset in the attic space to move away from other features above the roofline? In the attached photo, I've drawn a vertical yellow line where the flue/chimney will come out of the roof. As you see, it's very close to the second story, but I think it will look odd to have a super tall metal chimney higher than the second story. If I must do it that way, what's a good alternative to multiple 3 ft sections of Supervent? That's gonna get expensive quick.
chimneyplan.JPG

Welcome. Not much wiggle room and with good reason. The wood stove should exhaust above any nearby roofline. Yes, class A chimney pipe is expensive, but it is a one time infrastructure expense and a safe one.

I don't see how an offset inside would get you 10feet away from that roof-line though?? Or are you talking about the doghouse dormer roof?:confused:

Still gonna need to get 2 feet above.

10-3-2 rule.JPG

Just go straight up and comply with the rule. I think It'll look just fine, and after a short while you won't even notice it. Install a little brace off the gable end. Sweeping will be easy from atop the second story roof. Rick

Certainly not the cheap solution you are looking for but in that spot a wooden chase around the chimney will look pretty good.
chimney-case-cover.jpg