Chip on new stove, What to do?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

qwert

Feb 14, 2011
MD
Newbie here. Just had a Jotul Rockland C550 installed and the face plate has a chip on it (see pic)! Darn! The installer says they will send out touch-up paint. Should I settle for this or demand a replacement plate? I'm concerned the porcelain could crack under high heat. The chip is on the plate, not the door or the trim panels, so getting the full brunt of the heat. Anyone else have an issue or applied touch-up paint to their insert? It's a fairly sizable chip and in the upper right corner, very visible. Thanks for any comments.

Attachments

• Jotul Chipped.jpg
    Jotul Chipped.jpg
    163.2 KB · Views: 278
I would say money talks. After paying good money for stove and install, I would expect to get what I paid for. That is a stove without a chip in it! Unless they are willing to knock a reasonable amount off of the purchase price, I would demand a new face plate.
Good luck

Qwert ( I didnt get that till i typed it out well played sir!) Who did your install? Was it Fireside?

Was the chip on it when they uncrated? Or did it happen while they were working on? I may be able to help you on this one.

They normally do so they dont have to cover it. The packaging on those is done very well to prevent this from happening, but from time to time it still does. Was it the Edge Water store or Glen Burnie? Ill give Matt or Tisha a call tomorrow and work out the details for you. If you could PM me your name so they know who I am talking about.
Tom