1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Clinkers & ash build up..?

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by vinnyqua, Jan 17, 2012.

  1. vinnyqua

    vinnyqua New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Loc:
    NY
    Hey everyone,
    I got a quadrafire classic bay 1200 freestanding. My stove has just recently started to act up a little. I get a lot of clinkers and ash build up in and along side inside of the burn pot. Sometimes I get a lot of unburned pellets at the bottom of the burn pot. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Vinny

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. GrahamInVa

    GrahamInVa Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    513
    Loc:
    Eastern, Virginia
    We need more info to be able to help.

    When is the last time you did a COMPLETE cleaning including the vent?

    What brand pellets are you burning?
  3. briansol

    briansol Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,905
    Loc:
    central ct
    sounds like you're low on air. clean the pipes.
  4. vinnyqua

    vinnyqua New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Loc:
    NY
    The stove is only 2 1/2 months old and only went through almost 1.5 tons. The first ton we used American Pellets and now we ordered 2 tons of Powerhouse pellets which I heard are the same pellets as American pellets but I believe they are different because the color is different and the smell of the powerhouse pellets are more pure wood. I always clean the burn pot, ash pan, baffles and the heat exchangers every 2-4 days.
  5. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,227
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Venting, ash traps, and certain motor cavities. At about the 1 ton mark depending upon how much ash what you are burning produces. It is all ash dependent.
  6. DobieMom

    DobieMom Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Loc:
    Eastern Shore of MD
    Vinny, that's a lot of pellets in 2 months ;)

    OK, there's a little rectangle held in place by 2 screws and located in the center of your stove just above the ash pan...needs to be cleaned out if you haven't done that little secret compartment ;) Also, lower right hand side of your stove there is a square held on by 4 screws...LOADS of ash can collect in there, as well as on the combustion fan...that needs to be cleaned out too :) What is your venting like? I have 4 foot verticle outside with a clean out T...that also most likely needs to be cleaned out. They would be my "check first" suggestions :) Let us know how it goes!
  7. vinnyqua

    vinnyqua New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Loc:
    NY
    Which pipes on the stove should I clean?
  8. DobieMom

    DobieMom Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Loc:
    Eastern Shore of MD
    The only 'pipes' I've cleaned are the heat exchangers...I got a small hard bristle brush with a metal wand that is bent like an L shape that I use to also clean over the top of the heat exchangers. As a side note (wouldn't cause and air issue) but creosote can build up on your heat exchangers and should be cleaned off periodically.
  9. vinnyqua

    vinnyqua New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Loc:
    NY
    Hey DobieMom,
    Well we use it as a main source of heat on our main floor of our house and keep it on high and runs off of a thermostat set on 70. It works great. I have the stove vented straight out my wall horizontally. We actually went through 1 ton and about 10 bags, not 1.5. I will look for that secret compartment, is it underneath the burn pot through the ash pan?
  10. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,227
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    On the quads you also have to make certain the burn pot holes get cleaned out regularly.
  11. DobieMom

    DobieMom Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Loc:
    Eastern Shore of MD
    Right Smokey! I figure that's a 'given :)

    Vinny, the access to that little compartment is dead center on the FRONT OUTSIDE of your stove...just below the glass door and just above the top edge of your ash pan ...it's where your igniter is located ;)
  12. vinnyqua

    vinnyqua New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Loc:
    NY
    Here is how I have my pellet stove setup. I custom built the hearth.

    [​IMG]
  13. vinnyqua

    vinnyqua New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Loc:
    NY
    Smokey... I clean out the holes as well.. Thanks... Dobie, I will check that when I get home and let you know how it works when im done. Thanks all.
  14. DobieMom

    DobieMom Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Loc:
    Eastern Shore of MD
    Nice looking hearth Vinny :) Ummm, I don't see a surge protector for your stove?? That's really a must to protect your investment ;)
  15. barnyard840x

    barnyard840x Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Loc:
    north eastern ohio,sullivan
    Like smokey said,theres an air restriction somewhere. Have you cleaned the ash from you flu yet? Try the leaf blower trick too.my buddy has a quad and has never had any issues with clinkers,though most times he keeps it really clean i have seen it burning just fine really dirty. Gonna ahve to clean it with a fine toothed comb. Lots of tlc and she should be burning good again.if not theres a leaky gasket somewhere.in that case break out the dollar bill for a test
  16. IHATEPROPANE

    IHATEPROPANE Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,315
    Loc:
    NoPellettons, MA
    You should think about putting that on a surge protector.
  17. barnyard840x

    barnyard840x Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Loc:
    north eastern ohio,sullivan
    Yes,surge protectors areva must when you have micro processors in your stove.any voltage spike can potentaly fry your motherboard(circuit board). Good eye!!!!
    ;-P
  18. vinnyqua

    vinnyqua New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Loc:
    NY
    Yes I know. I'm gonna grab one next time I goto home depot.

Share This Page