Combustion air Installation.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

snaple4

Feeling the Heat
Dec 18, 2017
AR
Hello everyone! This is going to be a work in progress over the next few days. Some background: I work in the HVAC field and do almost all the design work for the company I work for (mainly residential and light commercial). I purchased an underground house a bit over a year ago. Had some very unsafe things going on. Fast forward to today I have ripped out old stand alone stove, rock wall that was built around it, the old pipe and the 4” single wall vent for the 80% furnace that ran next to it. I now have a summers heat 2k, class A pipe inside clay, double wall inside. Furnace is now 90+% vented out the side of the house (you can see the pvc in a pic). House itself has almost NO leakage verified by blower door. So that leads me to install a fresh air for the wood stove and house.

This first image shows the 6” to 3” reducer, the rigid flexible metal 6” pipe, and the aluminum waste gate. Thought the gate would be a nice safety feature for peace of mind. The wall pipe goes through is concrete board with metal studs (otherside is open to HVAC closet.)

9A31E3DC-A11F-4E7C-A552-7922E4BA7099.jpeg

this second picture shows the 7” pipe (transition inside the HVAC closet) as it exits the HVAC closet and runs along the wall towards the exterior wall.

01EB0658-A6BE-4DF2-95AE-C79055D587BC.jpeg