Confusion identifying fireplace type and options to add insert/stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

AHems

Dec 1, 2023
Vancouver Island, BC
Hi there,

First post and a total newbie, so go easy on me!

I've read a ton of really useful info on here and THINK I have what my be a candidate for adding in an insert, but I notice some differences between the other heatform style units and my own (mainly the lack of circulation tubes on mine, though it does have some sort of venting/circulation areas in the usual lower side and upper middle that do seem to function). Is anyone able to help me try and determine what I actually have here? I've had people say its a heatform style unit and could easily be updated by cutting and adding an insert and SS liner, but then I've also had someone tell me this is prefab zero clearance unit that is not able to handle an insert.

There do seem to be some water/rust stains, which i can only assume is from a time before a concrete cap was put on as I've seen a ton of rain here since i moved in and zero signs of any moisture . There is a fair bit of rust all over, but everything seems to feel pretty solid to me with no holes or weak spots.