Considering a Neo Air 2.5 Insert - any thoughts?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

afk314

Dec 29, 2014
Boise, ID
Hi,

I'm relatively new to wood burning stoves, but over the last month or so I have spent a considerable amount of time on these forums, getting acquainted with all of my options and other considerations. I've pretty much landed on a Pacific Energy Neo 2.5. I like the flush and modern look, think it'll be good in our 2100 ft2 house where it will be used to add warmth to the rather large living room/dining room and office wing of the house. I think it might even be able to handle the whole house without the furnace, but that is not a priority for me. Mostly I want to add some real warmth, transform the useless gas fireplace into something useful, and let me burn some wood.

Today, I had a chimney sweep and Pacific Energy dealer come clean out my chimney and take measurements. He has never installed a Neo 2.5 but liked the stove. He personally owns a Super and recommended that as an option for me. Which I have considered but don't ultimately love. His price to install an insert is reasonable and overall I liked him. My concerns at this point:

* I don't see many reviews of this insert, so I'd like to hear from others who may own one or know of someone who owns one.
* As mentioned, this dealer has never installed one before - is that much of a concern? He has over 30 years of chimney sweep experience and has installed countless other stoves though.