Constant smoke smell when not in use

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

aouke

Mar 4, 2015
Hillsborough NJ
Hello everyone,
This is my first time posting here although I have been reading countless posts since I bought my townhouse over a year ago, which came with a Vermont Castings Winter Warm (large) [VC WW]which sits in my fireplace that has a chimney up an outside wall.
As soon as I moved in I noticed the constant smokey smell in the house. It is especially noticeable when the air is more heavy.
I began my investigation into what could possibly be wrong and after after reading a number of posts and peaks behind the stove I thought that the lack of a block off plate was the problem so i removed the stove to install the block off plate, at that point I learned that it was a direct connect system and did not have a liner going the entire height of the chimney.
I installed the block off plate (https://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/articles/making_a_block_off_plate/) and re installed the stove. Unfortunately the smell continued.
At that point I was hoping that maybe the smell was wind related and purchased/installed a Vacu-Stack Wind Resistant Chimney Cap. Which obviously still has not worked.
I then decided that maybe my HVAC system was the culprit as my main return vent was in the same room as the fireplace. So i temporarily sealed up that return vent (only other one is now a tiny one near the bedrooms), but that hasn't worked.
I also even installed new gaskets hoping that was the issue but not.
The only thing that had been working was basically burning 24/7.