Convection Blower Always On

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

blindtripp

Oct 22, 2012
Central Massachusetts
Newbie here. I just finished the install on my first pellet stove (a CAB50) this morning. I've run it a couple of times throughout the day and noticed the convection blower wouldn't shut off even though I had the thermostat all the way down. The last time I ran the stove I let it run for over an hour and a half before I unplugged it.

I started looking through the manual for info. There was nothing about the convection blower always being on in the troubleshooting section but I did see in the reference section in the back that snap disk #1 controls the blower (and is connected with two purple wires). So I open the side panel to look for the snap disk and see 2 purple wires connected to a toggle switch and nothing connected to the snap disk (see picture attached).

snap.jpg

I just want to see that you all agree the toggle switch should not be there and that it's safe to hook up those purple wire to the snap disk.

I'd be growling at that dealer. You could plug the stove in and fire it up then after it has exited startup shut it back down and 30 minutes later if the convection fan is still running turn that switch off, just be careful as there could be plenty of juice there.

If the blower stops then with the power off and the stove unplugged remove those wire from the switch and install them to the snap disc.

But you should give the dealer the 20 question grilling.