Cook Stove for This Unique Shelter?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

seedy

Oct 6, 2011
TX
I am new on here, and new to wood stoves. I have no experience and am a girl :) so I don't understand all the technical stuff. I do, however, want to buy a wood stove that can heat this kind of structure:

http://www.geoshelters.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=50&Itemid=57

It would be a geodesic shelter like this, 24' or 26' in diameter (not necessarily the one from this website), which equals 452 or 531 square feet. I would like to be able to heat in a range of a mild to extremely cold environment. Also, it will be the main source of cooking for a family.

So basically I need something that is easy to transport that can cook and heat this kind of space!

I don't even know if I should do steel or cast iron, although it seems like cast iron doesn't get as dangerously hot to the touch and radiates heat better?

What about this one?: http://www.ruralking.com/box-stove.html

Or this?: http://houston.craigslist.org/for/2634687705.html (can you cook on that?)

If I use steel, would something like this stand up to long term daily use?: http://www.outfitterssupply.com/Kni-Co-Alaskan-Deluxe-Sheepherder-Stove-Package/productinfo/WCS225/

I appreciate any advice or suggestions on which stove to choose. I would like to spend less than $800, and MUCH less if possible. I don't know anything about efficiency or btu's needed, and I don't know how to determine if it is well constructed and well sealed.

Thank you for any and all help :)