cost of electricity to run a pellet stove ?? newbie

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

lecomte38

Feeling the Heat
Jun 6, 2008
Central Mass
I am a newbie here so be gentle with me. I just ordered a Harman Accentra pellet insert. How much electricity do these things use? Is one particular brand or model better then others? (its not to late to cancel my order)

Pook, based on the 4 amps it is much more than that! I think you are speaking about stoves with smaller motors and blowers.

4 amps would be almost 500 watts, wouldn't it? watts=voltage times amps, or x = 110 x 4.5

Given rising electric prices, this should be figured in! Thanks for the question - since most people do dismiss it......

Given a future electric cost of 20 cents a KWH (which is very likely soon), that would be 10 cents an hour, or $75 a month.....not insignificant, for sure. At current prices, say 14 cents, it is about $50 a month.

I read where the Harman P38 uses 75 watts on low speed but that`s probably aimed toward the distr fan only. The comb fan must draw around 50 watts and the auger motor maybe up to 100 watts.
Total is less than 300 watts . I believe it`s fused for 3 amps.
Some day I`ll put a meter on it .
John

Wow, I don't know pellet stoves, but 500W continuous blew my circuit breaker. That does add up, as Craig already noted/figured. This should be another input when one is deciding what fuel type they are buying into. What the heck is using all that power, is the auger working that hard?