Couple questions re gaskets and downdraft burning...long winded

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dtabor

Feb 8, 2007
Lake Elmore, VT
I have a new Defiant NC with the 8" pipe coming out the back about 3-4 feet then straight up a one piece SS liner in a brick chimney, center of house, over 20'.....Im still learning the procedure but overall its working OK.

As far as the everburn question, once the bypass is closed, should ALL the brighter style primary flames go away? Im not talking full burn looking, just here and there on the end of a split or something.

Also, I get the rumble, but on days where Ive been home to watch it for a period of time, Ive seen it subside and then come back a couple minutes later??? But those dancing secondary flames are still in there, sometimes more like a flare up of secondary style flame?? Does this sound semi-normal? I need to learn what is correct and not so I know what Im seeing.

Now on the gaskets, first, how long should they last and is there something that would make them not last as long? Reason I ask is that a few times while watching, when the secondary flames would flare up, Id notice a squirt of smoke come from around the griddle, not a huge puff, just a wisp. Ive noticed that if I religiously keep the ashes clear of the shoe holes, this doesnt happen. I also found early on that the gasket around the griddle had come loose on the front near the handle. Is this a defect, poor work when they put it on or normal? Mind you Ive only had this/been burning this since October, brand new when installed by "pro's"