Cutting slabs out of trees

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a mate with a few big trees to remove, mostly bluegums, mine for the felling and burning. However one of them is a big one, almost 5 foot diamter base, and it seems a shame to burn it. The first few metres should yield some nice big slabs for furniture, but I've never done slabs before. Is it too hard for an amateur?

I have another mate whose dad has a chainsaw with 60" bar, and the bar has a handle thru it for 2 man operation. I was wondering if I could rig up some kind of frame and cut some slabs out of the big tree, what was involved, what the technique was. If I butcher it, no cost, just the despair of a magnificent Sydney Bluegum wasted, well to be burnt anyway.

Any pointers or suggestions or links? Or is this the kind of thing I should take to a sawmill using a big truck? Or sell to a mill? (Would they even want such a small quantity anyway).

For the non-aussies, Sydney Bluegum is a beautiful timber species with deep reds and wonderful grain. It's a pretty hard timber, not as hard as ironbark, but then nothing is. In Oz we frequently name red things "blue" or "bluey" (eg a red cattle dog's common name is Bluey) and blue things red . . .

If you mean "slab" as in a cross-section slab- then you generally need to let it dry in the round first- seal the ends with wax and let it sit for a couple years. If you cut a slab out of wood with moisture in it, then it will crack as it shrinks and you'll have a slab that looks like pac- man.