Cycle ON/OFF or Slow Burn?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bigwalleye

Jan 16, 2011
Cuyahoga Falls, OH
I've been burning for almost two years now, and seem to remember something I read early on about stove sizing. That being: it's better to run a smaller stove flat out than it is to run a bigger stove on a low setting to keep the heat output down. Maybe I misremembered reading that, but it leads me to this question:

I've been burning consistently the last few days, and with the wife cooking/baking and holiday hosting, the house has been fairly warm, warm enough for us, around 67F. The house is fairly tight and well insulated. Normally I'd run the Harman on Room Temp around 65F, but I'm wondering if running it on a very low setting, almost the lowest, is 'worse' than letting it cycle on and off? I've been surprised that even on the lowest setting the house is maintaining 66-67F with outside temps in the high 20s / low 30s.

So, is it better to cycle on and off, running flat out to get the room warm again, or just let it lope along on a low setting maintaining an even temperature?

Does your stove not have a Hi/Low option as well as On/Off? I use On/Off mode in the fall/spring (controlled by thermostat). Once it's below freezing I switch to Hi/Lo mode so that the stove does not have to go through start-up cycles. It may run for 30 minutes on the higher setting, then drop back to low until the thermostat calls for heat again. Of course of the frigid days it may stay on the higher setting most of the time.