December NG prices spike in Boston

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
From a quick read of the article, it looks like electric generation of NG plants will increase too:(

Thanks for the link! Mods please feel free to move if this is in the wrong forum.

Central Maine has become a hotbed of natural gas expansion by not one but TWO gas companies! I work in the utility services industry and have never seen a situation where two competing gas companies overlap service like we are currently seeing in Augusta, ME population of a whopping 18,000 people. One of the Companies is a Maine based company, Maine Natural Gas- owned by Iberdrola (large Spanish Utility), the other is based out of Colorado- Summit Natural Gas. MNG's strategy was to start in Augusta and grow more organically with demand, Summit came in with an aggressive $350 million regional growth plan.

In my opinion the City, Region & State completely blew this by going out to bid separately and awarding split contracts. In my opinion this will become a huge safety concern with parallel mains being run on the same streets and services being bored over each others mains. Being familiar with the industry and seeing numerous homes explode in Southern New England I am concerned that the aggressive construction schedule may have led to construction shortcuts that many of these out of state crews working for Summit Natural Gas will never even think twice about.