"Dirty" wood

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

MrCampbellAHS

Dec 15, 2023
Veedersburg, IN
First time poster here, so if this is a dumb question I apologize (and I am a high school teacher, so yes, there are dumb questions). My wife and I are in the first winter in our new home and bought a load of firewood to get us through this burning season. We've been having issues with our stove, a GM 60, and I have been talking to our dealer to figure those issues out (figuring out moisture content, when to engage catalysts, etc). One thing I wonder about is dried dirt on some of our wood. We knock and brush as much of it off as we can, but there are some chunks that still have some dirt on the surface, not covered completely, but just still a little dirty. I know the guy we bought it off of and it simply is dirt from where it was stored. How much damage will this do, if any, to the stove and the catalysts? Solutions?

Don't think a little dirt will hurt the stove but remove as much as you can
I was told get that dirt off, there an't no BTUs in dirt, boy

Reactions: D8Chumley
Most rounds have a bit of dirt on them. If it was a major problem, there would be a lot of discussion about ways to remove it. I generally brush off what I can with my gloves when I'm splitting and stacking, and sometimes drop a split on its end onto a clean(-ish) hard surface to knock off a bit more just before bringing it into the house. Dirt on stacked splits in storage might encourage insects or rot depending on storage conditions.

Have to agree with @johneh: there's no heat from burning dirt.