New Encore: One Month Update

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Hbob

Jan 20, 2024
Seattle
I have been burning my new Encore for a little over a month now. It has been working great. Background: We had a very old Encore that was needing a rebuild and could no longer take a catalyst (previous homeowner modification). Once we looked at part prices for glass, catalyst, etc and the work needed we jumped on a local sale on VC stoves. So I have a lot of experience running an Encore before, although not in catalyst mode. We are using the factory catalyst thermometer. We pulled out the old 8" singlewall pipe and installed 6" double wall Selkirk. The look is much more balanced with the size of the stove. We bought another Encore because we like the look, THE TOP LOADING and the "FIREPLACE" MODE (more on that later).

For the first time, we get all night fires. Very easy. And we have clean stack exhaust and low buildup. I am a big fan of the catalyst and ours behaves very well with our setup and our wood. Our wood is fir, seasoned under cover for 12-24 months. I have only overheated catalyst one time due to inattention. I find it very easy to light and get up to temp and when I close damper and engage the catalyst it hums along in the middle of the factory thermometer range. I really like the analog operation of the stove with a metal SST and factory thermometer. Running the stove is a lot like fly fishing. Low tech and you get in a groove knowing your stove and your wood and the stove just behaves and puts out heat. I still run outside when I kick in the catalyst to see the amazing clean exhaust gases!