Do I have a defective stove?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

ratbeetle

Nov 28, 2023
MO Ozarks
Hello all. I recently installed a Drolet Deco II. This is my third stove install, I'm far from an expert but I understand the process and I'm confident that my install is solid. Stove is installed in the living room of our 1600sf home. Stove room has vaulted ceilings, I have approximately 7' of double wall with a foot of 45 degree offset from the stove top to the ceiling penetration, then 11' of class A chimney. Only 3' of that is outside and I'm a little more than 2' above the roof ridge line.

The stove drafts extremely well when hot, so well in fact that I called Drolet the first week I burned with the stove because the primary air was whistling and flames where very strong and hot with primary closed down. I felt like I couldn't dial the air down enough and was worried about overfiring the stove. Drolet told me that there was no issue with the stove and I just needed a damper in the double wall because the draft was too strong.

My big issue though is on cold starts. This stove pukes smoke out of the bottom on cold starts through what appears to be the secondary air system no matter what I do. I've tried just about everything I can think of so far and I still get smoke out of the bottom of the stove on cold starts. I really don't think it's a draft issue because smoke is going up and around the baffle while still coming out the bottom. And some of the smoke coming out of the bottom is pulled right back into the firebox and up the chimney.