Do you know? Thermocoupler..

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

walkerj001

Oct 27, 2016
Michigan
Hello I am new to the forums and got pointed to this forum for assistance. This may be a basic question , but I am still learning and wanted to be sure I am doing this correctly. What I am doing is installing a thermocouple into my chimney pipe so I can get a digital readout on a PID controller from inside the house. The question I have is what would be the best location to install this thermocouple? I have seen where people stated 18" from top of woodstove, but that was with woodstoves that had chimney pipe coming out from the top of the woodstove and not the back. I have attached some pictures for reference. Also I know that thermocouple should be before the barometric draft regulator.

Unit is a US Stove 1557m

Thanks in advanced for your assistance !
Greatly appreciated

Attachments

• IMG_4866.JPG
    IMG_4866.JPG
    65.7 KB · Views: 139
  • IMG_4867.JPG
    IMG_4867.JPG
    87.7 KB · Views: 146
What do you want to accomplish with this reading?
Is it just to know how hot the flue gas is?
I would say as close as possible to the flue collar of the appliance

My dad's chimney has a temp sensor to tell him how hot things are getting since the chimney runs through the center of his house. he has an alarm set at a certain temp to sound when he needs to go choke down the damper if he gets busy doing something else. his sensor is just before the chimney punches through the basement ceiling. so I would say about 6-7 feet from the wood furnace flue exit.