1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Does Depth Gauge Get Worn Down?

Post in 'The Gear' started by WarmGuy, Feb 15, 2013.

  1. WarmGuy

    WarmGuy Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    492
    Loc:
    Far Northern Calif. Coast
    When I use my depth gauge to file down the rakers on my chainsaw chain, the file of course rubs the gauge itself. I'm assuming that the metal of the gauge is sufficiently hard that I don't need to worry about it getting worn down. Right?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. lukem

    lukem Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,687
    Loc:
    Indiana
    File THEN check it with depth gauge...don't file with depth gauge on the chain.
    MasterMech likes this.
  3. MasterMech

    MasterMech Guest

    Check it, remove the gauge, check it again.
  4. HittinSteel

    HittinSteel Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,587
    Loc:
    Northeastern Ohio
    Remember, you need a progressive depth gauge (like the carlton file o plate)........ the ones from stihl and oregon are virtually worthless after the first filing or two as they are not progressive as the tooth length decreases.

    edit: The stihl one is great for cleaning the bar groove of debri.
  5. smokinj

    smokinj Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    15,972
    Loc:
    Anderson, Indiana
    Round the rakers not flatten them.........:)
    MasterMech and Thistle like this.
  6. NH_Wood

    NH_Wood Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,602
    Loc:
    southern NH
    Not to get off topic, but......I've been thinking about an electric grinding wheel. Videos show touching up the rakers with the wheel at 90deg - makes sense. But....do you have to go back and round the front of the rakers by hand? Cheers!
  7. HittinSteel

    HittinSteel Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,587
    Loc:
    Northeastern Ohio
    I just started doing this and I have not gone back and rounded the front....... the chain cut very well.
  8. smokinj

    smokinj Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    15,972
    Loc:
    Anderson, Indiana
    I dont use the wheel for rakers.
    PA Fire Bug likes this.
  9. MasterMech

    MasterMech Guest

    The idea is to "dress" the 1/4" grinding wheel (thicker than what you'd use for the cutters on just about any chain) to shape the rakers.

    We had a dedicated grinder for rakers when I worked for a dealer, was faster than changing the setup of the main grinder. The 2nd grinder doesn't have to be fancy either. ;)
    NH_Wood likes this.
  10. NH_Wood

    NH_Wood Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,602
    Loc:
    southern NH
    That makes a lot of sense - so.....you wear the wheel to the shape of the raker - good info. Thanks Hittin and Smokin too!

    Cheers!
  11. smokinj

    smokinj Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    15,972
    Loc:
    Anderson, Indiana
    flat rakers on long bars will give you bad elbow!
  12. WarmGuy

    WarmGuy Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    492
    Loc:
    Far Northern Calif. Coast
    Thanks, that makes sense, but I've been basing my filing on this excellent video from Stihl, which shows filing with the gauge in place (see 27:41):



    It's also done that way in this video:



    and this one:




    I first file them flat with the gauge, and then go back and round the leading edge (see 26:23).
  13. fabsroman

    fabsroman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    977
    Loc:
    West Friendship, Maryland
    Just saw this video of how to sharpen a chainsaw chain with an Oregon grinder. Must say, it is one of the best ones I have seen so far.

  14. ^^^^^^
    They filed the depth gauges with the gauge in place (at 4:25) :-(
  15. MasterMech

    MasterMech Guest

    There is no reason you can't do that. Plan on replacing the tool occasionally. They are pretty inexpensive.

Share This Page