Does this Vermonts Castings Stardance only operate by remote control?

Post in 'It's a Gas!' started by stripedbass, Jan 16, 2012.

  1. stripedbass

    stripedbass
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Loc:
    Boston
    I have a Vermont Castings vented gas fireplace heater model SDV30RF. It's made for propane but I got a conversion kit when I bought it so it now runs on gas.

    It's amazing. It heats up my small 535-square feet condo really well. And it's very efficient.

    My question is this: So far I use the remote control to operate it. The remote is really easy to use. But if I did not have the remote, could I still operate this heater?

    Also, does anyone know the number I can call for tech support for this product?
     

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. DAKSY

    DAKSY
    Expand Collapse
    Patriot Guard Rider Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,352
    Likes Received:
    1,139
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    If it was installed, there should be an ON/OFF switch on the left rear
    of the stove (as you're facing it). I don't have a number, but here's the manual:

    http://www.stovesandspas.com/pdf/stardance.pdf
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. Heatsource

    Heatsource
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    150
    Loc:
    Northern CA
    if memory serves me:
    if it has the full function honeywell system, there is no way to connect a t-stat, or on/off switch

    i'd love it if i was wrong though!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. stripedbass

    stripedbass
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Loc:
    Boston
    After eyeballing the stove for a while, I do not see an on-off switch. However, there is an on-off knob for the pilot light. If I'm correct, does this mean if I lost or broke the remote control I'm screwed (especially if it's in the dead of winter)?
     
  5. DAKSY

    DAKSY
    Expand Collapse
    Patriot Guard Rider Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,352
    Likes Received:
    1,139
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...

    Not necessarily...There is also a way to "hot wire"
    the valve with an on/off switch or a jumper between the
    terminals (TH & THTP) where the remote is hooked up.
    After all, a remote (or a thermostat for that matter) is
    basically a switch...
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. stripedbass

    stripedbass
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Loc:
    Boston
    DAKSY,

    I'm not a technician so all this is not easy for me to understand.

    All I know is that I love my stove.

    Let me ask you this: If I wanted, can I install a wall switch for my stove?
     
  7. DAKSY

    DAKSY
    Expand Collapse
    Patriot Guard Rider Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,352
    Likes Received:
    1,139
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    I'd say yes, if the OEM switch is still available.
    Looking at the manual, it seems fairly straightforward.
    If the OEM switch isn't available, you may want to go with
    a simple wall switch, connected to the valve terminal block
    with 18 gage thermostat wire....I suggest you read the manual
    & even do some on-line research to familiarize yourself with
    the components & the operation of the appliance... If you get
    stuck or confused this is the place to ask more questions...
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. stripedbass

    stripedbass
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Loc:
    Boston
    I never intended to do this on my own. I intend to hire someone for the job. What I wanted to know was whether or not a wall switch could be installed for my stove. The answer seems to be yes.

    My next question: Is this a job for an electrician or stove technician?

    I REALLY appreciate your helpful feedback on this.
     
  9. DAKSY

    DAKSY
    Expand Collapse
    Patriot Guard Rider Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,352
    Likes Received:
    1,139
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    The answer IS yes. Who you get to do the install is up to you.
    An electrician is overkill, but will probably do a clean job. A stove
    tech or a general handyman can do the job equally as well...
    Wiring your stove to a wall switch is not a difficult thing to do,
    as long as you are MODERATELY handy with tools. It will involve
    cutting a hole in a wall, mounting an outlet box, running the wire
    & making the connections to the switch & the stove.. There is virtually
    NO electricity to speak of. Your Stardance operates on millivolts that
    total about 1/2 of 1 volt DC. For example, one AA battery is rated at
    1.5 volts DC. SMALL. Any of the "Gas Geeks" hear can talk you thru it.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. stripedbass

    stripedbass
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Loc:
    Boston
    Like an idiot, I forgot to ask whether the wall switch will allow for a thermostat setting. In other words, one of the great things with the remote control is that I can set the temperature setting and if the room temperature gets to that setting, the stove shuts off. If it dips below, the stove turns back on. This is so efficient. Can a wall switch allow for such functions or will it only allow for an on/off function?

    I'm about to get some electrical upgrades for my small condo so this is a convenient time for me.

    Again, I really appreciate the feedback. I know nothing about these things.
     
  11. DAKSY

    DAKSY
    Expand Collapse
    Patriot Guard Rider Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,352
    Likes Received:
    1,139
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    A wall switch is just that - ON/OFF. You want a millivolt thermostat.
    The hook up is the same. Like I said in an earlier post, a thermostat is
    nothing more than a switch. The only difference is that it's temperature
    driven. If you want a programmable set-back t-stat, you can install one
    of those if you wish... It just has to be a millivolt T-stat.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. Heatsource

    Heatsource
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    150
    Loc:
    Northern CA
    Bob, typically that would be sound advice9as usual!!)
    but,
    this is the double t-pile model, with 4 connectors/terminals
    none of which are labeled

    any idea which ones to use? i sure dont....
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  13. DAKSY

    DAKSY
    Expand Collapse
    Patriot Guard Rider Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,352
    Likes Received:
    1,139
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    I would use the ones where the remote is hooked up.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  14. Heatsource

    Heatsource
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    150
    Loc:
    Northern CA
    the remote receiver is built into the valve(not field serviceable as far as i can tell), the only wires leading to the 4 terminals are from the dual t-piles

    there is basically a control board attached to the bottom of the valve, may be able to figure out a way to wire a t-stat to it, but it seems like the "control board" is permanently fixed to the valve

    i'll call Monnesson and ask...
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  15. Heatsource

    Heatsource
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    150
    Loc:
    Northern CA
    yup, per VC, and lennox tech,
    no control option other than the original honeywell remote
    "it will turn on using the "local" switch"
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  16. DAKSY

    DAKSY
    Expand Collapse
    Patriot Guard Rider Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,352
    Likes Received:
    1,139
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Interesting. The stove manual shows a rear shroud mounted switch...

    Page 25 also shows the connections for a thermostat...Kinda confusing...
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  17. Heatsource

    Heatsource
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    150
    Loc:
    Northern CA
    the manual lists info for several valve options...
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

Share This Page

Entire Site copyright © 1995-2016 - email to webinfo@hearth.com
Hearth.com and HearthNet are property and trademarks of Hearth.com LLC Advertising Information