Drooling over Drolet 1800 trio-a few questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

excessads

Burning Hunk
Feb 16, 2016
Garden State
Hi all: Newbie here been lurking around for a few months, really enjoy this site with all the invaluable info. Have my eyes set on the 1800 Trio, which comes with the Vortex liner, cap, faceplate. One local reputable installer mentioned they would only install preinsulated liner and cap for $1200 + 250 installation. From those of you used Vortex liner before, is it fairly easy to wrap insulation material on the liner and stay put without major issue? How is the quality of the Vortex liner like?

In addition, one option being offered from the website I am buying from has an option of liner fastening system for about $80, would I be needing it, or can the installer should be able to connect the wood stove insert and liner without issue?

Welcome. Do you have a link? The Trio seems to be discontinued on several sites.

The installer price sounds pretty good for an insulated liner. Make sure the chimney is cleaned first. Is that included in the installation price? The kit also looks like a good savings and price. Make sure the top plate is large enough to fit the tile liner. You will still need to have the chimney cleaned and an insulation blanket kit for the liner. Is there room for the insulation blanket? What size is the clay tile liner?