DSL Router & Networking Question – Keep Alive?

Post in 'DIY and General non-hearth advice' started by wenger7446, Nov 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wenger7446

    wenger7446
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    28
    Loc:
    Pottstown, PA
    I just switch my Linksys router to PPPoE for my Verizon DSL(For the past 3 years Verizon has been great). It was advised by the manual that I should turn on “Keep Alive redial every 30 secs” to keep my connection active and ready.

    From my understanding Keep Alive sends a packet of information “somewhere”….but where? Does the router send the packet to the modem (so it would not use any bandwidth) on to the Verizon web server (so that packet goes out on the www)?

    Thanks!

    Ryan near Philly, PA.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. AndrewChurchill

    AndrewChurchill
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    62
    Loc:
    Vermont
  3. wenger7446

    wenger7446
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    28
    Loc:
    Pottstown, PA
    Thanks for responding.

    From reading that, it does sound the data packets are sent from the linksys router to verizon's host server to keep the connections alive?

    Can I get a confirmation?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. wenger7446

    wenger7446
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    28
    Loc:
    Pottstown, PA
    Thanks!

    Ryan
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Entire Site copyright © 1995-2016 - email to webinfo@hearth.com
Hearth.com and HearthNet are property and trademarks of Hearth.com LLC Advertising Information