Dust and grime and soot, Oh My!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ezwryder

Hearth Supporter
Oct 6, 2010
West Central Iowa
I'm a newbie and need your help. We have a new LOPI Endeavor in the living room with double wall pipe, which was professionally installed, and use it to heat the whole place, 1850 sq ft. We love the glass door and the idea of cutting, splitting, stacking, and burning our own wood. And it sure does put out the heat. However, we've noticed something this far into the heating season that's bothering us. We seem to have a lot of dust. When we wipe down a glass top table in the living room with a damp wipe, the wipe comes up with lots of black sooty looking stuff on it. It's scary. Naturally we're wondering if this could affect our health. I do open up both air controls before I open the door to add wood, and it always appears to be pulling air in as I load it. I'm also very careful when I empty the ashes, about once a week. What else should I be doing.....or not doing?

I'm a newbie so I don't have much help to offer you but if you haven't already read it you might want to check this thread out...

https://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/forums/viewthread/65947/

It sounds like you probably have a good install so it seems to me like ash is probably getting away from you during wood loading and ash removal.

Whatever the case, here's a bump for your question. :)

Best wishes,
Ed