Dutchwest question, thoughts

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Patrick H

Hearth Supporter
Nov 8, 2009
Northern NM
Hey all, new to the forum, but not to wood stoves.
I've been using the Dutchwest 2461 for about 10 years, and I love it.
I have a question concerning the combustor. I've replaced the combustor 3 times now, and the air distributor twice. I just replaced the combustor, distributor, and catalytic probe thermometer. The thermometer I bought this time is a Condar unit, with a 1 5/8" probe, which is slightly longer than the old one. Now, I can't seem to keep the temp. below 1800-2000* for the first while.
It never read this hot with the old thermo, but I think it's not just the new thermometer, I think it's been running hot for years. The distributor I just replaced is completely melted/ blown out. The last one I replaced several years ago was almost as bad. The combustor I just pulled out only lasted for a season and a half. The on before that lasted ~3 seasons. The baffle under the combustor completely glows orange, and actually shows signs of melting and cracking. Last night I ran the stove with the combustor air closed completely, and the primary air almost closed to try and keep the combustor temp down. Even with a small amount of wood, the combustor runs 1800-2000*+, and the baffle glows.
Thoughts? Experiences?
Thanks in advance, and sorry for the long winded post.