Efficiency Ratings and effective Heat

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

playernulla

Hearth Supporter
Sep 17, 2008
seacoast nh
I know I am stepping into it here but here goes. I have been burning wood off and on for 30 years. Started out with old style and over past ten years I have been burning high efficienty stove with catalytics. I just went backward and installed an old Fisher and began burning. I have read on the posts here that these stove chew through wood. However the truth is I could never get the heat out of any the newer high efficiency stoves like I get out of this old monster. While I am sure under ideal circumstances the efficieny is higher for me it seems that I get more usable heat per unit of wood out of the old stoves. Like many folks we are gone all day and sleep all night. That leaves a couple of hours in the morning to get the stove built up and the evening hours when we are home. It can take hours it seems to get heat to begin radiating from the newer stoves because the boxes are so smal and the cast iron takes sol long to heat.