Eko 40, How do you manage ashes

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

hartkem

Jan 24, 2012
KC
Im still in my first season with my eko and I'm still learning. Yesterday I had some trouble keeping the boiler gassifying. I had about 6" of cooled off coals over the nozel and a lot of ash in front and behind the nozel. This morning I cleaned the entire upper chamber, lower chamber, and chimney of ash. Probably got about 3-5 gallons worth out of it. When I removed the lower refractory there was a lot of ash almost blocking the turbulators. Also when I removed the lower inspection cap from the tee off the back of the eko so much as came out that it was almost blocking the exhaust out of the eko. So my question is what are others doing to prevent the ash buildup in the chimney and behind the lower refractory. I usually clean the ashes out of the U shaped part of the refractory every other fire and the lower chamber once a week but don't remove the refractory blocks. I've removed the refractory blocks 3 times to clean behind them since late October. Should i be cleaning the ashes out of the upper chamber? I burned about a half cord of 2 year season pine rounds 3 inches in diameter or less and lately about a half cord mixture of apple/ elm all rounds 3" in diameter or less dried almost three years. After cleaning all is well again.

Holy smokes...that's a lot of ash. In a normal year I'll fill my ash bucket twice, total. And that thing is not 5 gallons. My first thought - it's the pine. Others will have to comment though since I never burn it. I burn only hardwood.