eko-40 owners.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bernard

Sep 17, 2008
central maine
i have been burning for about 10 months now, eko-40, with 500 gallons of storage runs great no oil man. burning seasoned wood seems to gassify well gets up to temp and charges tank no problem. every once and a while the stove will backfire and puff smoke back through the fan. the primary is at 9mm the secondary at 3.5 turns out the fan opening obout 25% fan speed at 50%. Has anyone else had this problem? Maybe my air adjustments could be off? Is there a correct setting for a perfect burn? The wife would appreciate not being bothered to finish typing this pargraph. And of course no huffing and puffing! Thanks for the help.
Dave and "the wife"

What's your flue like? Good draft? I've never had any puffing back through the fan myself. I'll get it every once in a while if I'm stupid while loading wood mid-fire. But never with the system "on" and running on it's own...

This year I've begun to experience it myself and I believe it is because I working with better wood (that doesn't sound right, heh). What I've noticed is that if my I have too many small splits it tends to happen more. Lately I've been loading it with small splits (2-3" across) for the first quarter of wood and load the rest of it up with the larger splits (4-6" across). Seems to have helped although I'm not sure that's what the problem is or if it is affecting efficiency.