1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

EKO/BioMax Controller

Post in 'The Boiler Room - Wood Boilers and Furnaces' started by rreihart, Nov 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rreihart

    rreihart New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    73
    Loc:
    Central PA
    The controller on my BioMax is a model RK-2001UA. Its very similar, maybe even identical to the EKO. The manual says that terminals #1 and #2 on the back can be used with an optional module to fire an additional boiler if there is no fuel. Anybody have or better yet use these terminals? If so what is the output when there is no fire, 24V? I think I'll check it out tonight and see what I can find out, but some of you may already know.

    Thanks, Rob.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Eric Johnson

    Eric Johnson Mod Emeritus

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,705
    Loc:
    Central NYS
    Mine's an RK-2001, too, but I don't have it hooked up that way. That controller is supposed to do lots of neat things. Let us know what you find out. The EKO manual that Zenon has for download on his website goes into some detail on the controller, but I'm not sure it covers that. I don't think the BioMax manual says much about the controller.
  3. Nofossil

    Nofossil Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,408
    Loc:
    Addison County, Vermont
    RK-2001E. I'm using it as it came 'out of the box'. Seems like some experimentation might be in order, though.

    I have an oil boiler plumbed in parallel with my EKO. I have a manual switch and some other logic that disables the oil when the wood if active.
  4. rreihart

    rreihart New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    73
    Loc:
    Central PA
    I didn't find anything on terminals 1 and 2. I set the no fire parameters to one minute and watched for an output through the terminals. The fan shut off after a minute and the fuel alarm displayed, but I didn't see any type of voltage output. I then thought maybe they were a contact that would open or close, but found no continuity before or after. The manual talked about testing the output. However as I scrolled through the parameters that output never came up. Is it possible that the controller needs to see the optional module? If no one has any thoughts I suppose I'll check with Zenon.
  5. Nofossil

    Nofossil Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,408
    Loc:
    Addison County, Vermont
    Sounds like you need more definition - a manual would be nice. Perhaps it mimics a thermostat and will present a contact closure only with a house sensor connected and reading lower than the setpoint?

    In a similar situation, I used a bimetallic switch (available in different temperature settings for a few bucks) that would close when the temp dropped below a certain point - sort of a poor man's aquastat.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page