1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Electrical Outlet Height in Basement

Post in 'DIY and General non-hearth advice' started by velvetfoot, Dec 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. velvetfoot

    velvetfoot Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,475
    Loc:
    Sand Lake, NY
    Another basement question...

    I am thinking of insulating basement walls (other thread).
    There are currently plenty of electrical outlets there, but they are all high off the floor-not like the typical outlet.
    Would it be too hideous to keep them at that height or should I relocate them lower?
    It's not like I plan a super-finished basement, but who knows?
    Thanks. I know it's probably a stupid question.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. SlyFerret

    SlyFerret Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,438
    Loc:
    Delaware, Ohio
    I think I would want them lower. If you have reason to worry that you might ever have water in your basement up to the outlets, protect the circuit with a GFCI. Either a breaker, or an outlet. You can protect an entire circuit of outlets with one GFCI outlet.

    -SF
  3. Czech

    Czech Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,065
    Loc:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Back in my wiring days, we always used a framing hammer (14"?) length for basement boxes, actually all boxes. Not sure what code is (was) but it always passed and was an easy way to measure at the time. Agree with Sly's GFI comments. Don't make more work for yourself than is needed, often times what you may notice (or that bugs you) will never be noticed by others (I can point out EVERY bad nail in my hardwood floors, no one else can). Go with function, if they work where they are at, move on.
  4. burnham

    burnham Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Loc:
    central massachusetts
    Lower them unless they are over a counter or workbench.
  5. zogboy

    zogboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Messages:
    118
    Loc:
    CNY
    My basement is field stone that I plastered with
    fiberfilled cement.
    So all my outlets are in the ceiling and it works well
    for us as we use the area for a pottery studio and a
    few hydropontic tamaters :)
  6. velvetfoot

    velvetfoot Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,475
    Loc:
    Sand Lake, NY
    Thanks a lot everyone.
  7. amkazen

    amkazen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Loc:
    Albuquerque, NM
    HI,

    Lower the outlets down to suit your uses. We put the outlets higher than normal and the light switches lower than normal in our house after watching my Grandmother try to unplug & plug stuff, and seeing how unstable she was bending over (why she was doing that is beyond us). Our outlets are about 19" high at outlet mid-point and if we build another house I am going to go about another 5" - 8" higher..still low enough a couch hides them but high enough we do not have to bend over too much. The switches are low enough so someone in a wheelchair can easily use them, and they can also use the outlets easier. Just a thought.
  8. fbelec

    fbelec Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,661
    Loc:
    northern massachusetts
    there is no code for height, but just for how far apart they would have to be. if it is going to be just a basement then it has to ground fault circuit. if it is going to be finished habitable space then you don't have to put in gfi. if it is going to habitable let me know i tell how to lay it out.

    this is what i do for a living.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page