Englander 25 ep overfeeding even on LFF 1

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

bcastine1

Oct 28, 2018
New Hampshire
Little background with my stove.
Recently the coil on the auger motor melted. Thinking the windings had just broken down overtime i simply replaced the auger motor and the control board fuse which had blown.
Replaced motor and was well for about 3 hrs. Then my smoke alarm went off, along with the tell tale sign of burnt electronics and a bunch of smoke This time the coil was on fire, stove fuse had popped again as it should. At this point I know i have a bigger problems with the stove.
I am an Electronics tech by trade which means I know just enough to be dangerous so I began reverse engineering the control board since no schematic seems to exist for it. I quickly troubleshot the problem to a bad transistor in the upper auger control circuit. The transistor was leaking 30 volts when it should be at zero(when the auger shouldn't be turning) This type of motor on the auger motor will always try to draw 50 or so watts when it sees any voltage. So when it is receiving 120v. it draws approx. ..42 amps(normal), when it was seeing 30 volts it was drawing in excess of 1.6 amps on my Fluke! The windings had no chance.