Englander 30NC, N/S vs E/W

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

venator260

Feeling the Heat
Nov 16, 2015
Huntingdon County, Pa
So I'm still learning how to run my new Englander NC30. This is the first modern stove I have experience with; I ran an Alaska Kodiak in my youth, and last winter, a wood/coal combo Penn Royal. So anyway:

All that I see on the forums here says that N/S is the better way to load a stove. The Englander's firebox is 22 inches wide and deep, and my wood stash is cut for my old stove, so it's about 17 inches long. I can load either way. I've burned it about 6 days total, and, as I suspected, the wood I have could use more drying time.

Last night I loaded E/W for the first time from the same needs more seasoning wood pile (I get a sizzler every now and again). It seemed as though I did get more wood in. I went through the procedure that I've been using, and the stove and pipe temp just wouldn't settle down. Spots on the stove top were about 875 degrees according to my IR. I eventually did get it to come down a bit by shutting the primary completely, and closing the pipe damper about half.