Englander NCH 30 Smoke While Reloading

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
K

katwillny

Hey all, Just got and installed the NCH 30 and absolutely love it. Great stove. One thing I have noticed is that when I reload it, I get a face full of smoke. The flue damper is fully open so is the air control. Any suggestions? Thanks all.

A novice here but couple questions:

Where is stove vented? Into a chimney? does the chimney have a liner and what size/condition? Has the chimney been cleaned recently? What's the quality of the wood being burned? Does it happen all the time or only when stove is cool/cold and getting warmed up?

I would suspect some sort of a draft issue causing the blowback. Only other question- do you have any other fans or exhausts in the house running that are causing negative pressure?

That's a big single door to swing open and can pull a lot of air. I crack the door about an inch and wait a few seconds, then slowly pull the door open the rest of the way.

It also depends on where I am in the burn cycle. Are you loading this thing up and letting it burn in cycles? Or are you just adding a piece or two here or there. If I only have one or two pieces in the stove for a very small fire I find I will pull smoke out of the stove if I open the door when there are still active flames (the draft is just weak when loading with only a few pieces).

pen