EnviBlocks / SuperCedars / etc - Wood / Kindling alternatives

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here
Status
Not open for further replies.

brakatak

Jul 1, 2013
SE Mass.
are these recommended for NonCat EPA Stoves ? Just wondering incase I run into burn issues this year due to my stacks not being ready.

This is my first year burning, and have 3 cords sitting for 9 months, but I have concerns about being about to fully burn it all this year. I have mixed moisture readings from 18-30% right now on the pieces I've tested. I'm going to start sorting thru the stacks.

Just burn the drier stuff first. It is four months to January and the stuff doesn't stop drying just because school starts.

You can resplit it and stack it loosely...won't hurt.

Super Cedar makes a great starter, but it's not for burning like this. A lot of people supplement their loads with the manufactured products like biobricks, etc and that seems to work. You can also use mill ends, pallet wood etc if you can find some. Some try pellets but I didn't have any luck with that.

I was in exactly the same boat last year and had to burn some alder that was upwards of 30%. I got my fires going well and hot with the best stuff first, then added a few of the 25-30% stuff during the day. As long as the secondaries and flue stay hot, then you should be fine as far as creosote is concerned. You will still lose efficiency, of course, but you do what you have to with what you have.