1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Enviro EF-3 - Room blower only runs on high?

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Don2222, Jan 14, 2013.

  1. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,032
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Hello

    Turning the room blower knob down does increase the resistance like a potentiometer should, however the blower grumbles and quits. Pulled out a new blower as a test and it just quits. It will not decrease in speed.

    Could that be the triac in the knob module? See pics below.

    Attached Files:

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Bob Sorjanen

    Bob Sorjanen Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Loc:
    Edgecomb Maine
    could the pot be dirty? have you tried anything to clean it? I use Deoxit for dirty pots and it seems to help
  3. heat seeker

    heat seeker Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,944
    Loc:
    Northern CT
    There's not much in there but the pot and the triac.

    Did this particular motor ever slow down correctly, or is this a replacement motor? Some motors will not respond nicely to triac control. The one I recently installed in an old Earth stove stated it was not for speed control, it was designed to be On or Off, nothing in between.
  4. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,092
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Hells bells, you are looking at a few dollars in parts if you were to replace both the pot and triac.
  5. chamas

    chamas Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    120
    Loc:
    PNW
    I too, balked at the price of the replacement speed control so I replaced my faulty one (different failure mode than yours, off was off, on [any position] was full speed) with a ceiling fan speed control, like this:

    http://www.northerntool.com/shop/tools/product_200436487_200436487

    Snapped off the edge mounting tabs and it just fit!

    But now I find I almost always want the fan full speed anyway!

    PS: Did you try the mini philips adjustment screw recessed in the side of the speed control? Sometimes adjusting that screw "fixes" it.
  6. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,032
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Hi
    Great idea on the ceiling fan motor control! They are usually 5 amps which should be enough for this blower!

    I see the screw adjust, it looks like it changes the resistance range of the knob control to properly bias the triac. So that may not work.

    Your idea of the speed control is the best!
  7. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,032
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Hello

    Well, I got the new OEM Enviro part EF-045 ! ! !

    Attached Files:

  8. heat seeker

    heat seeker Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,944
    Loc:
    Northern CT
    And???
  9. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,032
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    I wil let u know when I put it in. :)
  10. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,032
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Hello

    The new board fixed it!

    Attached Files:

  11. heat seeker

    heat seeker Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,944
    Loc:
    Northern CT
    Congrats!

Share This Page