Fettles and Kettles and Lollipops

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sandie

Feeling the Heat
Oct 29, 2009
West of Boston, MA
I posted this as a reply to someone one elses post but it should be a new post really so here it is
Guys, I have a dumb question- I have the two door Resolute of 1985 vintage. Ash Fettle- what is that? I have no ash pan to my knowledge. The air that comes into the stove is from the "Thermostat" and the secondary air hole which is on the left side toward the back. So I am not sure how much ash to leave in the bottom of the stove, what is a fettle, does it have to be cleaned out? From what I can tell the secondary hole does not communicate to where the wood is and the ash build up is am I correct? I am trying to figure out a way to vacuum out the hole on the side since my stove sets between stone walls so there is 2 or so inches on either side of the stove and the walls so can not fit a vacuum hose in there to suck out any fine ash collected but think it is there. I fashioned a blow gun thing with 1/2" pipe that is normally used for sinks etc and took a 90 degree angle and put it at the end of this pipe and then put a small piece of some pipe I cut off and put it in the 90 degree and it in the hole and blew and ashes came out very fine ashes so I am thinking if I take cardboard, make a 1/2hole and put vacuum on that cardboard so it seals all but the 1/2" hole I might be able to suck this stuff out without making a huge mess? Other ideas how to clean out the hole for the secondary?