Fire Therapy

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

roberth42

May 12, 2010
Tres-St-Redempteur, Quebec
Does anyone else find that watching the flames extremely soothing.
I'm new to burning and find that I just like sitting back and enjoying the fire and it completely relaxes me from the day to day stress and prepares me for a good night sleep.

I have a feeling that I'm going to be addicted to burning!!!!

Yes Definitely!!!!

I wish my wood furnace had a glass in it. But I have bonfires all year and I can sit out and watch them all nite.

Billy

Yup ...watching flames dance around and over splits can be real relaxing.

Yup, fireplace in the winter and a waterfall in the summer. I can watch for hours.

I find a lot about working with wood to be relaxing. I find the repetitive motion of splitting and stacking to be a nice way to relax, let the mind wander a bit and have some deep thoughts such as the meaning of life and what I want to make for dinner.

When I'm a bit stressed I find it useful to not take out the splitter, but haul out the ol' ax and whack a bunch of wood for a bit . . . therapeutic and useful at the same time . . . and it costs a lot less than going to the therapist . . . well except for when I go see Lucy . . . only costs me 5 cents for her advice.