Firelight?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Slow burn

Sep 2, 2016
New Hampshire
This stove was in the basement of the house I just bought. It was stuck in the corner, when I looked inside it's pretty rough. I have no experience with catalyst stoves. Would it be worth having built? It cost me nothing. Is a rebuilt stove as good as new? What would a rebuild go for? Looks like it was fairly expensive stove when first purchased. Thanks for any opinions!

The entire stove may not need rebuilt. A new cat, and cast iron cover for sure. Possibly a cat housing. Probably $500 or so from what I see. I'd fix it and use it, no doubt!

Careful, there are some parts of that stove that are no longer made/imported. Having worked on a few of these I can say that the catalyst and refractory together will be more that $500.00, and the iron parts all come from Norway too remember, so mnot cheap. Even so, if you had $1000.00-$1200.00 into it, it still may be a good investment IF it suits your needs. Remember there'll be ongoing maintenance with a catalytic stove that most new ones don't need. AND a new one has a warranty!

Just an aside, I absolutely LOVE the top loading Firelights!!!

The only parts that I've ran into that weren't available was the linkage for the top lid. Enamel castings aren't available either. I'd pass on it anyway if it needed any castings replaced.