Fireplace Extrordinaire Gas Conversion

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

calzephyr

Hearth Supporter
Jul 26, 2007
Hi Folks:

I'm a newbie here, but i have a question that I don't see addressed elsewhere.

I had a Fireplace Xtrordinaire installed when my home was built in 1993. It had the log lighter and gas option, but i chose not to install them and instead use it as a straight wood burning fireplace.

Now I'm getting old and lazy and want to convert it to gas. Can I now have a gas line run to it, use the "knock out tab" and run the gas in to a log set?

Any issues or recommendations?

I was told that FPX discontinued the "knock out tab" so that the fireplaces can not be used as either Wood or Gas. What was the issue? Is this conversion dangerous? gas leaks? Carbon monoxide? Explosions? Did they get sued?

Thanks for your input, I appreciate a quality forum like this.

- CalZephyr

If its one of those open faced energy wasters... yeah you should be able to run a gas line through the knock out and install a gas fireplace / gas log in there.

Are you looking for something decorative that sucks heat up the chimney, or something effecient that could be used as a zone heater.

Someone that works with that brand should able to tell you if there were any recalls or something of that nature.

One of the big concerns with a gas fireplace is the explosion potential you have with the build up of unburnt gas. You can get one with wood and pellets, but it is very minor in comparison.