First attempt at cribbing

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Rebelduckman

Minister of Fire
Dec 14, 2013
Pulaski, Mississippi
20140323_082802.jpg Pass or fail? Maybe it'll stay up. Took down a small pin oak today and decided to try it. I'll have to say it was much easier like this. No posts or timbers to worry with.

Last edited:
Looks good to me! I'm new to it also, we'll see if mine stay up this season.

Sometimes I'll just cross-stack a couple of splits on the end, every third layer or so. Seems to work pretty well....

View attachment 130396 Pass or fail? Maybe it'll stay up. Took down a small pin oak today and decided to try it. I'll have to say it was much easier like this. No posts or timbers to worry with.

Looks real good. Split them big and square and you can go real high. And then wait for them to dry.

IMGP9838.JPG

A- ... I'm a tough grader though. I like to halve the ends go up level or lean a bit to the inside vs. Outside.

Reactions: tfdchief
Looks nice.
Hard to tell from the pic, but maybe the right side is leaning out a bit? If so that could be an issue if you go higher. Keeping it low like that = much less likely to fall.
Not saying I could do any better, I've done my share of re-stacking...

Reactions: Backwoods Savage
Looks nice.
Hard to tell from the pic, but maybe the right side is leaning out a bit? If so that could be an issue if you go higher. Keeping it low like that = much less likely to fall.
Not saying I could do any better, I've done my share of re-stacking...