First post from newbie - lots of creosote EBW 200 (O)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

lotusland

Feb 26, 2012
BC, Canada
First of all, please excuse any faux pas in my postings - I've never used a forum before.
We got our Econoburn installed partway through our west coast winter, and have been burning mostly dougals fir, at least 2 years old. Since Day One, there has been a LOT of creosote, to the point where when the door is opened, ribbons and gobs of it stretch themselves out along the gap. Walls and ceiling of firebox also coated. The longest burn we've got is about 4 1/2 hours.
Questions:
  1. Would adding storage/buffer make for a much more efficient burn?
  2. How do I get the existing creosote off as I clean up for summer non-use? (When it's hot, I can scrape the areas that are reachable, but when cold, it practically needs a chisel.
Thanks! When I figure out how to post a picture, I will.

Pardon my ingornace but is that unit a downdraft gasifier? And which "door" are you seeing the creosote in?

All of us gasser users will get some creosote in the upper chamber just by virtue of how the unit operates. But you should not be seeing "gobs, pools, ribbons, etc" unless you're burning wet wood or if the unit is idling significantly.

How big are your splits? How long did your wood season after you split it?

Pardon my ingornace but is that unit a downdraft gasifier? And which "door" are you seeing the creosote in?