First stove! -- In need of some advice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mincus

Oct 28, 2016
Missouri
Hello all,

I have been dreaming of a wood stove for many years and finally bit the bullet and bought the quadrafire 3100 step top model. I'm so excited! I'm planning a corner installation.

I'm trying to order material for the flooring and wall around the new stove. I have a few questions:

For the flooring, I looked at the installation manual (top part of page 13), and I think it says my floor needs to be 1.25" of noncombustable material. Here's the link.

1.25" seems quite thick. Am I reading that correctly? (mine is the model WITHOUT the pedestal) I had planned on putting ceramic tile on top of a sheet of cement board, which is on top of the plywood subfloor.

At this thread: I tried understanding if I could meet the requirement of 1/2" of k value of 0.84 or more. And (if I'm understanding correctly), one sheet of 1/2" durock cement board (.39 R value) and a layer of ceramic tile (.25 R value) should meet this qualification. Is that correct?

The guy at the tile shop told me that I shouldn't use ceramic tile under a stove. Any truth to that that you know of?

And for the wall:
I see that the clearance from a combustible wall is 5.5". Is that distance for if I just have drywall there? Does it change anything if I put ledger stone there? Or is that not at all required?

Thank you all for the help. Just wanting to make sure i'm doing everything correct.