1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

First time leaf blower this weekend!

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by ylomnstr, Oct 21, 2011.

  1. rickwai

    rickwai Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    288
    Loc:
    ohio
    If you just leave the door open on most stoves you wont pull any vac on the switch.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. DonD

    DonD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Loc:
    Wallingford, CT
    So I picked up the Homelite blower but I'm having trouble finding an adapter that will connect it to my 4 in vent.

    Chris - can you post a link to or better yet a picture of exactly what you used? I've been to Home Depot twice and Lowes once and found nothing that matched your description. I can probably make this work but if you found something better it'll save me the trouble of having to trim this one down to size to fit into the blower.

    NIBCO 4 in. PVC DWV Coupling
  3. nhredbird

    nhredbird Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    105
    Loc:
    Southern, NH
    Wouldn't it be easier to just leave the door propted open?
    So it won't pull an extreme vacume?
    As well most have an OAK?
  4. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,488
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    Actually, I leave the door open. Go out and start the blower. Once its going I hussle back into the house closae the door and let it build vacuum. Then open the door again. I can usually see and hear more ash heading outside. I repeat until its clean.

    One reason I disconnect the vacuum switch. I don't want to wreck it if the vacuum gets to high!
  5. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Let me add that with the cpm stove that nhredbird has, after you remove the fiberboard "brick" panel and the firepot, the back walls are steel and you can give the steel some decent "bangs" with a small hammer while the blower is running.....you'll get even more ash out that way.
  6. MacP

    MacP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    148
    Loc:
    Southeastern MA
    I have a Harman P61a and I was wondering where this tubing or switch that everyone keeps talking about. I'm thinking about doing it tomorrow before we get blasted with frigid weather.

    Should I just try it with the door open?
  7. krooser

    krooser Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,423
    Loc:
    Waupaca, WI
    I'm going to try to hook up a vacuum gauge to the stove the next time I do the LBT... I suspect there isn't enough vacuum to do any component any harm.... after all these stoves are not airtight and, at least in my case, the connection at the vent pipe and the leaf blower is less than tight.
  8. mepellet

    mepellet Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2,002
    Loc:
    Central ME
    I have the same stove and was hoping to find out where the tubing is also.
    http://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/forums/viewthread/86662/
    Noone pointed me in the right direction to find the tubing so if you find out could you kindly post the answer? I just haven't had time to dig around with the back covers off to search for it yet.
  9. RKS130

    RKS130 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    523
    Loc:
    Croton-on-Hudson, NY
    If anyone knows where the vacuum switch is on the Accentra FS and whether the LBT poses a danger to it, I'd appreciate hearing about it. Also, I have an old (15 years) Craftsman gas powered blower/vac. Any reason not to use that?

    Much obliged.
  10. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,226
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Check page 25 in the manual for the location of the vacuum switch in your stove. There are light blue and white wires leading to it.
  11. RKS130

    RKS130 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    523
    Loc:
    Croton-on-Hudson, NY
    As always, many thanks Smokey (both for the information and for not making me feel like an idiot for not checking the manual first!) Happy burning in 2012.
  12. jeffd3889

    jeffd3889 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Loc:
    West Monroe, N.Y.
    I tried this after doing a thorough cleaning and i cant believe what came out. Not as much as some of the videos but it was well worth the effort. Easy to do now that i have the adapters so I plan on doing it after each ton. Thanks everyone for their posts.

Share This Page