First time leaf blower this weekend!

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by ylomnstr, Oct 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rickwai

    rickwai
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    60
    Loc:
    ohio
    If you just leave the door open on most stoves you wont pull any vac on the switch.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. DonD

    DonD
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    7
    Loc:
    Wallingford, CT
    So I picked up the Homelite blower but I'm having trouble finding an adapter that will connect it to my 4 in vent.

    Chris - can you post a link to or better yet a picture of exactly what you used? I've been to Home Depot twice and Lowes once and found nothing that matched your description. I can probably make this work but if you found something better it'll save me the trouble of having to trim this one down to size to fit into the blower.

    NIBCO 4 in. PVC DWV Coupling
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. nhredbird

    nhredbird
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Southern, NH
    Wouldn't it be easier to just leave the door propted open?
    So it won't pull an extreme vacume?
    As well most have an OAK?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. jtakeman

    jtakeman
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,496
    Likes Received:
    1,571
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    Actually, I leave the door open. Go out and start the blower. Once its going I hussle back into the house closae the door and let it build vacuum. Then open the door again. I can usually see and hear more ash heading outside. I repeat until its clean.

    One reason I disconnect the vacuum switch. I don't want to wreck it if the vacuum gets to high!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. imacman

    imacman
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Let me add that with the cpm stove that nhredbird has, after you remove the fiberboard "brick" panel and the firepot, the back walls are steel and you can give the steel some decent "bangs" with a small hammer while the blower is running.....you'll get even more ash out that way.
     
  6. MacP

    MacP
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    5
    Loc:
    Southeastern MA
    I have a Harman P61a and I was wondering where this tubing or switch that everyone keeps talking about. I'm thinking about doing it tomorrow before we get blasted with frigid weather.

    Should I just try it with the door open?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  7. krooser

    krooser
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,423
    Likes Received:
    77
    Loc:
    Waupaca, WI
    I'm going to try to hook up a vacuum gauge to the stove the next time I do the LBT... I suspect there isn't enough vacuum to do any component any harm.... after all these stoves are not airtight and, at least in my case, the connection at the vent pipe and the leaf blower is less than tight.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. mepellet

    mepellet
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2,141
    Likes Received:
    276
    Loc:
    Central ME
    I have the same stove and was hoping to find out where the tubing is also.
    http://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/forums/viewthread/86662/
    Noone pointed me in the right direction to find the tubing so if you find out could you kindly post the answer? I just haven't had time to dig around with the back covers off to search for it yet.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  9. RKS130

    RKS130
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    82
    Loc:
    Lower Hudson Valley, NY
    If anyone knows where the vacuum switch is on the Accentra FS and whether the LBT poses a danger to it, I'd appreciate hearing about it. Also, I have an old (15 years) Craftsman gas powered blower/vac. Any reason not to use that?

    Much obliged.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,363
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Check page 25 in the manual for the location of the vacuum switch in your stove. There are light blue and white wires leading to it.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. RKS130

    RKS130
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    82
    Loc:
    Lower Hudson Valley, NY
    As always, many thanks Smokey (both for the information and for not making me feel like an idiot for not checking the manual first!) Happy burning in 2012.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. jeffd3889

    jeffd3889
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    West Monroe, N.Y.
    I tried this after doing a thorough cleaning and i cant believe what came out. Not as much as some of the videos but it was well worth the effort. Easy to do now that i have the adapters so I plan on doing it after each ton. Thanks everyone for their posts.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Entire Site copyright © 1995-2016 - email to webinfo@hearth.com
Hearth.com and HearthNet are property and trademarks of Hearth.com LLC Advertising Information