First year burning, creosote drip

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

benphanna

Dec 27, 2014
Fife Lake, Michigan
Hi guys. This is my first year burning wood. I bought a house in August '14 that I'm heating with a Jensen wood furnace (24A I think, it's from 1982). Getting into the house later in the season didn't give me a whole lot of time to get my wood dried out at all so we've been burning relatively wet wood. It's going well, it's keeping the house warm and we fire it up to higher temperatures on a daily basis to help reduce creosote build-up (our chimney is also internal and insulated). I also make sure to keep the flue/chimney about every 3 - 4 weeks.

The only issue I'm recently seeing is that I've got some creosote that's dripping down the outside of the pipe at the very top of the chimney. The chimney currently doesn't have a cap on it (I recently put one on for a bit but it just wound up causing more tar build up, because the stack isn't at optimal temperatures).

The chimney is a double-wall insulated pipe. I'd like to keep the outside of the pipe relatively clean so I don't have a larger/thicker mess to clean up during the spring/summer. So my question is what would be the best way to get the creosote off the outside of the insulated pipe? Does it make sense to just burn it off with a propane torch (since it'll basically turn to ash once it's cooked)?