Free wood -- Is this a good deal?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dave11

Minister of Fire
Hearth Supporter
May 25, 2008
Western PA
I found out about a 20 acre area that was recently forested, with trees cut but lying. It's about 45 miles, 50 minutes from me. There is a parking area near the road, but no access road, and apparently only 4 WD access. The land is sloped and hilly, as is all land around these parts.

But apparently there's as much wood as anyone could want. Oak, cherry maple, by report. Sounds like word is just getting out.

I'm new to scrounging, and I'm wondering if this sounds better than it is. You would need to buck the logs and fill up only as much as you could get in the back of a 4WD pick-up. But then it's a 50 minute ride home, so obviously there's a limited number of trips to be made.

But how else could you get more wood at a time? Rent a dump truck? Rent a flatbed and winch, and drag the logs to the flatbed with the 4WD?

Or is all that more trouble than it's worth?

It's just that free wood isn't that easy to find around here.

Thanks.

Go out and take a load. Then determine its worth. It could be easier/harder than you think, but you won't know till you get a taste of it. To me it sounds like a long ways to go, but I don't have to fight for wood either.