Getting started Gassification vs. non gassification wood boiler

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jonymo63

Mar 30, 2011
Central Ct
Pro's con's? The gassification units seem to need tweaking are they worth the work as far as efficiency and less smoke? Thanks for chimming in as that I am new to this and want to purchase the correct unit, Jon

Jon,
Gasifiers don't require any "tweaking" the fine tuning thread can be a bit misleading/intimidating. Some guys like to play with settings but you can set it to factory specs and go with it. Even if you get a gasifier and never add storage you'll be ahead of the game. Gasifiers do take longer to light because you have to get a coal bed before you can close the bypass and get a good "torch" going. They do work better with dry wood but so does any wood appliance. Don't expect to throw green wood in and get gasification. Good luck.

Gasifiers do take longer to light because you have to get a coal bed before you can close the bypass and get a good “torch†going.

For my Tarm Solo Plus 40, "longer" = 5 minutes.

I agree. With experience, I can get a good gasification flame in 3-5 minutes. I haven't had to do any tweaking for two burning seasons. I just fill it up and go, with regular cleaning of course.