Getting the Boiler into the Basement

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

timberr

Hearth Supporter
Sep 17, 2008
Hill, NH
Hello all,

I am new to all this; next weekend I take delivery of a new Eko 25. I will be putting into my basement which has a bulkhead. I have access to construction type fork lift which will tilt down. So my plan is build a ramp down the stairs with plywood top and control the decent into the basement with come-along's (I am planning on leaving the eko on it's steel pallet and will have a piece of ply-wood with pipe's at the bottom to help ease the transition from slope to horizontal). Once in the basement I have a pallet jack to get it into place.

My question is there going to be too much friction causing the boiler to just sit there and requiring a push all the way down?

I am interested to hear about similar experiences.

Shaun
Hill, NH

Soon to have Eko 25 w/ 500 gals. of Storage.

timberr said:
I am new to all this; next weekend I take delivery of a new Eko 25. I will be putting into my basement which has a bulkhead. I have access to construction type fork lift which will tilt down. So my plan is build a ramp down the stairs with plywood top and control the decent into the basement with come-along's (I am planning on leaving the eko on it's steel pallet and will have a piece of ply-wood with pipe's at the bottom to help ease the transition from slope to horizontal). Once in the basement I have a pallet jack to get it into place.